Our One Income Family Budget (September 2018)

September has been incredibly busy as well as being a very expensive month. We have just moved to our new house and are in the process of selling our other one so therefore we have a lot of expenses.

So here are our Real Figures.

Expenses

Mortgage: £755 – We have been paying this amount for many years and is something that is very manageable for us.
Council Tax: £178 – This figure has now changed slightly from last year and is something we have to pay based on the size of home we live in. There are some households that are overpaying on their council tax so make sure, like we have, that you are in the correct bracket.

Water: £34 – Our water bill comes out every month and has now increased slightly. Of course, this figure could go back down if we continue to use less water.

Gas/Electric: £73 – We have switched a few times with different providers of our gas and electric to make sure we are getting the best deal for the amount we are using. The last company we used kept us on a low monthly payment which ended up seeing us in debt at the end of the year and having to pay a large lump sum.

Internet/Phone: £15.99 – This year we have paid our phone bill in one lump sum which you can check out from the January’s expenses, and now we have small monthly payment for the rest of the year for internet. The company we are using actually hiked up our bill without telling us so we have ended up with a refund for the increase.

Credit Card (Includes Groceries and Petrol): £584.61 – This is really high. It primarily includes groceries and petrol, but the odd payment from B & Q or Wickes can find itself on here. I must add that we pay this off in FULL every month.

Extra Groceries: £83.32 – Sometimes during the month we find ourselves having to nip out for some extra groceries that we may have run out of.

Preschool: £231 – Mabel gets 15 hours free childcare at preschool now but Martha attends 2 mornings a week which means we pay for her.

Eating/Drinking Out: £186.75 – We like to go out and socialise or have a family treat each month and the girls really love it.

Home Improvements: £459.98 – We are doing home improvements as we have moved house, so each month we might just have some costs while we get the house prepared for Winter.

Personal Money: £65 – Doug and I have an allowance each month so we have a little bit of freedom to buy some things we need or want for ourselves. Doug went a little over this month but hopefully, he can reign in it for the following months.

Dance: £102.37 – Both Mabel and Martha do Ballet so this expense is for the term.

Swimming: £62.15 – Mabel loved her intense course over the Summer that we have now put her in for Swimming lessons every week this term.

Events: £2.35 – When it comes to birthdays and events I try not to go over the top with buying costly items.

Train Ticket: £89 – Doug has been leaving home later so he can see the children in the morning, which results in him having to get the tube.

Medical/Dentist: £21.60 – Doug had a routine check-up at the dentist.

House Insurance: £88.74 – We have had to pay out for Home Insurance on the new property before completion takes place and due to certain circumstances it has gone up so we have paid out an additional fee.

Solicitors: £1250.50 – We have now paid our solicitors the remaining balance for the purchase of our new house.

Account Fee: £5 – This is our banks account fee that we pay every month, but like most things, we constantly look at other companies to see whether we are getting the best deal. 

Total: £4,288.36

This leaves us with -£1,373.39 when we take it away from what we had coming in from Doug’s Wage, Child Tax Credits and Extras. This means we have had to go into our savings which have been the plan when purchasing a new house.

See you again next month.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *